Welcome to the iSMTA and our Modern Business Continuity Management course at Level 5, which is certified internally by us and conforms to the qualification regulators in the UK.


Business Continuity Management has been a necessary part of business since the early 1980’s in one form or another. The need to protect the organisation, or business, its brand reputation, its assets, its workforce, its profits and its trade secrets has been a daily activity, the value of which is often only recognised when something goes wrong. Every organisation, or business, is likely to be protected by the use of Business Continuity Management measures, with most proactive business continuity measures being so normal that they are a simple part of our everyday lives. The fifth wheel in the car, solar chargers, IT back-up sites, are just such examples.

Business Continuity Management course being modern

Another feature of Business Continuity Management is that it needs to be ever-changing, to adapt to changing conditions, to changing business needs and to our ever-changing world. Business Continuity must continue to modernise to maintain its value and effectiveness. Those employed to advise on Business Continuity Management need to keep modern too. Having qualified through this programme is an excellent way to be a Modern Business Continuity Management Professional and provides a perfect pathway to further Continuing Professional Development (CPD).

Course Aim & Length

The iSMTA online e-learning Modern Business Continuity Management Course & Training has been designed for anyone wishing to gain a recognised Industry Qualification (IQ) Level 5 Certificate. So if you already work in resilience or Business Continuity Management (BCM) or are new to the sector, this course will enable you to become a recognised Business Continuity Management Professional.

Unlike other providers iSMTA is an e-learning purist, in that all taught content that is delivered by one of our many Subject Matter Experts (SME) is a close resemblance to actually being in the classroom, but without all the costs and time constraints. This recognised qualification course provides over 150 hours of taught content and will enable you to apply your new knowledge and qualification as a Modern Business Continuity Management Professional within a business environment.

The Qualification
The qualification approved by Industry Qualifications (IQ) through the Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF) is certified as: IQ Level 5 Certificate for Business Continuity Management Professionals. This 150 hour course, split over 8 Units at Level 5, is the equivalent working level to that of a ‘Foundation Degree’ in the UK.

How it Works
By joining our Academy you will receive the following:

– Access to our Professional Dashboard
– Hours of taught Professional e-learning course Units
– Downloadable PDF Factsheets
– Access to Podcasts
– Directed research guidance through ‘Think Points’
– Scenario Based Assignment
– Access to discussion forums
– 1 Year Student Membership of the Security Institute

What you will be Taught
This business continuity management course will provide the most up-to-date knowledge and a complete understanding of Modern Resilience and BCM, and will greatly enhance your career opportunities within the security and continuity industry, whether you are a newcomer to BCM operations, or an existing professional who wishes to enhance their professional development. The course consists of 8 Units with a minimum of 150 guided learning hours in total. It covers an understanding of what modern BCM entails, the main ways in which BCM supports an Organisation, how it addresses risk, current and emerging threats and the concept of modern BCM convergence.

Who Should Attend

This business continuity management course is for those that wish to embark within a professional career as a business continuity manager or you fall into the following categories:
• Gain a higher qualification in the subject of BCM management
• Those that wish to go onto a Degree or Master programme at university
• Combine with Physical Security and Information Protection qualifications
• Continuing Professional Development
• Interest purposes


The qualification approved internally by ISMTA but is quality checked in-line with the Regulated Qualification Framework (RQF). The course is certified as: Level 5 Certificate for Business Continuity Management Professionals. This 150 hour course, split over 8 Units at Level 5, is the equivalent working level to that of a ‘Level 5’ in the UK.